The Senate passed its version of the Farm Bill today. The vote was 64 in favor and 34 opposed.

The House will take up its Farm Bill after July 4th in the Agriculture Committee.

“This farm bill is unlike any other before it,” Senate Agriculture Committee Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow, a Michigan Democrat, said earlier this week. “It cuts spending, ends subsidies, improves accountability and strengthens healthy food systems. We are now closer than ever to achieving real reform in America’s agriculture policy.” 

“This is a very fine day in the recent history of the Senate,” said Republican Leader Mitch McConnell of Kentucky.

Forty-six Democrats and 16 Republicans voted for the bill. Both Independents who caucus with the Democrats, Sens. Joe Lieberman (Conn.) and Bernie Sanders (Vt.), voted for the bill. Thirty Republicans voted against the bill. Democratic Sens. Mary Landrieu (La.), Frank Lautenberg (N.J.), Mark Pryor (Ark.), Jack Reed (R.I.) and Sheldon Whitehouse (R.I.) voted against the bill.

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.